The highest honour awarded by the University of Greifswald is “Honorary Senator”.

After receiving a founded written suggestion from one of its members or a Dean, the Senate can award the title of Honorary Senator (Senator h. c.) to a person who has served the University significantly, in particular by promoting academia.

The title of Honorary Senator can only be awarded if the person in question receives a two-thirds majority from the Senate’s members.



The title of Honorary Senator has been awarded four times since the 9th November 1989:

  • Prof. Dr. Berthold Beitz (10/10/1991), Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation
  • Dr. Reinhard Glöckner (since 26/04/1993), former Lord Mayor of the Hanseatic town of Greifswald
  • Dr. Norbert Kleinheyer (since 09/10/1998), Managing Director of the Sparkassen- und Giroverband Hessen-Thüringen
  • Dr. Michael Otto (since 06/11/2000), Chairman of the Board of Otto GmbH & Co. KG, Founder of the Michael Otto Foundation for Environmental Protection