The Medal of Honour

The Medal of Honour

The Medal of Honour of the Univesity of Greifswald

According to the Basic Regulations of the University, the Medal of Honour can be awarded by the Rectorate, on agreement with the Reduced Senate, to individuals who have provided great services for the University of Greifswald. 

The founder of the University of Greifswald, Heinrich Rubenow, is pictured on the front of the medal. The historical University Main Building is pictured on the back.

Back of the Medal of Honour of the University of Greifswald
Front of the Medal of Honour

The University Honours Dr. Ekkehard Lohmann

The last Medal of Honour was awarded to Dr. Ekkehard Lohmann in 2014, during the award ceremony for the academic titles.  He was honoured for his services towards the University. Thanks to his commitment and persistence he managed to realise the last will of Agnes Lohmann, who died in 1991, which was to promote science and research at our university. In order to achieve this, he founded the Agnes Lohmann Foundation, which he chaired for a long time. In addition to this, Dr. Lohmann had donated substantial sums to the University prior to establishing the foundation.

Since being established, the Agnes Lohmann Foundation has supported Greifswald’s University Library with an annual amount of € 30,000, which is mainly used to support the digitisation measures. This led, for example, to the acquisition of a book scanning robot, with which a large number of books has already been scanned for e-reserves.  Since 2011, the foundation has also supported the University Library with the establishment of the state portal “Digital Library of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern”. This development has made the University Library a national pioneer in the linkage of digitised material from archives, museums, libraries and scientific collections. In 2016, the Agnes Lohmann Foundation financed the digitisation of 140,000 newspaper pages.