Erasmus+ – The European Union’s Mobility Programme

Erasmus+ –the European Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students – is the European Union’s programme for education, youth and sport.

Erasmus+ unites the previous EU programmes for lifelong learning, youth and sport, as well as the European cooperation programme for universities. The programme has three key action areas:

  • Key action 1 – Learning mobility of individuals
  • Key action 2 – Cooperation for innovation and the exchange of good practices
  • Key action 3 –  Support for policy reform

It provides EU funding to students, lecturers and members of university staff to enable them to gain academic and personal experience in other European countries and to capitalise on study and internship possibilities to consolidate their knowledge of language, culture and subject expertise. Exchanges with European universities are based on inter-institutional agreements between the University of Greifswald’s subject areas and corresponding areas at the partner universities. Use our pages to find out more about your options for planning a period of stay abroad with Erasmus+.

The countries taking part in the Erasmus programme are the member states of the EU, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey, and North Macedonia. There is also an Erasmus+ partnership with the partner countries Armenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Ukraine and Vietnam.

Opportunities provided by the Erasmus+ Programme:

Liability Clause

This project was funded with the support of the European Commission. Only the author is responsible for the contents of this publication; the Commission cannot be held responsible for the further use of the information contained therein.


Official page of the Erasmus+ programme
The University of Greifswald’s European Policy Statement
ERASMUS Charter for Higher Education 2021-2027